
APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD 
Florida Department ofHealth in Palm Beach County 


Office of Vital Statistics 

800 Clematis Street 


West Palm Beach, FL 33401 

HOURS OF OPERATION: Monday- Friday 8:00AM-4:30PM 


1st Thursday of the Month 8:00AM -3:00PM 

561 837-5847 


Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply fora death certification Vvhen cause of death information is also 
requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid 
photo identification. front & back, must be provided: AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see 
Eligibility on the back of this form) Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of 
death If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this 
application 
Acceptable forms of valid ID are: driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. \ivhen requesting a death certification 
without cause of death OR 1fthe death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required 

SECTION A" DECEDENT INFORMATION 
FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

NAME OF DECEDENT 

I 
IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known) SEX 

ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE) 

MONTH I DAY IYEAR (4-DIGIT) ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED ! Indicatethe range ofyearsto be searched 
DATE OF DEATH (Required .QQ/l:when exact year of death is not !known) 

PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN 

I 
PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY 

I 
STATE FILE NUMBER (if known) 

PLACE OF DEATH 

NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS FIRST MIDDLE LAST 

I 
SUFFIX 

RECORDEDONDEATHRECORD 
(if applicable and if known) 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER FUNERAL HOME NAME 
(if known) (if known) 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 

Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, orwho obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, 
commits a felony of the third dearee punishable as provided in Chapter 775 Florida Statutes. 

SECTION B: APPLICANT INFORMATION 

If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent: if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the 
relationship of the person you represent Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form. 

Applicant's I FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) 

I 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

Name 
TYPE OR PRINT 

HOME PHONE NUMBER MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT NO, IF APPLICABLE) 

I 
RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

( ) 

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER CITY 

I 
STATE 

I 
ZIP CODE 

( ) 

Funeral Director/Attorney as LICENSE/BAR NUMBER 

I 
NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED and THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

Applicant for ICause of Death Information 

Any death that occurred before 2009 should be requested from our state office at Bureau ot Vital StatiStiCS, P 0 Box 210 Jacksonville Fl 32231 

Descriotion Cost Each Quantitv Total Cost 

[ 1 Certified Copy\Mthout Cause-of-Death (public record) $15.00 

[ 1 Certified Copy\Mth Cause-of-Death (restrictions apply) $1 5.00 

[ 1 Funeral Home Rush Orders (8 00 AM- 3 00 PM) $10.00 

[ 1 Non Contagious Letter (Funeral Homes Only) $10.00 

• Check or Money Order payable to Florida Department of Health, Palm Beach Coun!l£ in US Dollars 
• If applying by mail, send request to Vital Statistics, P 0. Box 29, West Palm Beach, FL 33402 TOTAL 

(DO NOT SEND CASH) 

OFFICIAL USE ONLV- To be completed by Florida Health Department Staff 
Safety Paper Numbers: 

Amount Paid: $__ Balance $__ Initial 

Cause: Beginning End 
Cash Check__ Money Order __-­

No Cause: Beginning End Cred1t Card VISa_ MC_DISCVR AMEX_-
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, many for many years prior to 1917 Florida had 
consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered. 

ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death. 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant 
Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following 
individuals: 

• 	 Decedent's spouse or parent; 
• 	 Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 
• 	 Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the 

estate of the decedent, OR 
• 	 Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons. 

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a 
notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request If after reading the 
above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 
extension 9000 for assistance. 

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, 
and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone 
identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death 
Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record 
with cause of death information included when filing probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED: 	A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items 
requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc) may 
be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone 
number. 
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