

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD

Florida Department of Health in Palm Beach County

Vital Statistics Department

(561)-837-5860

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification, front & back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application. Acceptable forms of valid ID are: driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

		S	ECTION A: DE	CEDEN	T INFORMATION						
NAME OF DECEDENT	FIRST				MIDDLE		LAST			SUFFIX	
ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE)					IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNA			AME (if known) SEX		SEX	
DATE OF DEATH	MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT)				ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED Required <u>only</u> when exact year of death is <u>not</u> known)			Indicate the <u>range of years</u> to be searched			
PLACE OF DEATH	PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN				PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY			STATE FILE NUMBER			
NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD (if applicable and if known)	FIRST				MIDDLE	L	AST (Maid	len, if applicable)		SUFFIX	
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (if known)				F	FUNERAL HOME NAME (if known)						
			IMPORT		FORMATION						
Any person who willfully and kno any application or affidavit, or wl	ho obtains	confidenti	al information f	from an		e or fraud					
	SE			tult roa	uesting certificate) INFO	RMATION					
If requesting cause of death, all ap	plicants m	ust state the	ir relationship to	the dec	- ·	or an attor		must ente	r the relatior	ship of the	
Applicant's Name	poroon	2 1	MIDDLE, LAST (INCL					NATURE OF	APPLICANT		
TYPE OR PRINT											
HOME PHONE NUMBER		Μ	AILING ADDRESS (I	NCLUDE A	APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE)			RELATIONS	HIP TO DECED	DENT	
()											
ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER	ATE PHONE NUMBER CITY		CITY		STATE			ZIP CODE			
Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for C of Death Information	ause	LICENSE/ BA	R NUMBER		NAME OF PERSON REPRESEN	RESENTED and THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT				EDENT	
CERTIFICATES AND FEE	S – Certifi	cates availa	able for Florida	deaths	only. Payment is Not ref	undable.					
Description						Cost	Cost Quantity Tota			Cost	
[] Certified Copy Without Cause-of-Death (public record)						\$15.00					
[] Certified Copy With Cause-of-Death (restrictions apply)						\$15.00					
[] Letters (contagious / non-contagious)						\$10.00					
[] Shipping & Handling Fee per application (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery))		\$1.00					
							тот	AL DUE:			
CREDIT CAR ORDERS ONLY - To	be comple	eted bv cre	dit card holder	alona w	vith valid photo identifica	ation					
Type:[] Visa [] MasterCard [] AmEx [] Discover			Card Number:			Expiration:					
ull Name on Card: First			Middle Last				. ·				
	Street			City				State		Zip	
Cardholder's Signature:					· ·					•	
Hours of Operation:											

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

	•
800 Clematis	Street
W.P.B. FL 334	401

In Person Only... 225 S Congress Ave Delray Beach, FL 33445

**First Thursday of the month the offices close early, please call for detail.
DH 1961, 09/2023, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions)

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

ELIGIBILITY:

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

1. Decedent's spouse or parent;

2. Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent;

4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request. **SPECIAL NOTE**: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate.

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

<u>APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE</u>: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

PAYMENT: Cash, Credit Cards, Money Orders, Cashier's Checks or Bank Drafts; **Personal Check** (name, address, and phone number must be imprinted on the check); **Official Business Checks** (business name, address, and phone number must be imprinted on the check). **Payment is NOT Refundable.**

<u>Make payable to:</u> Florida Department of Health in Palm Beach County ADDRESS ON CHECK AND PHOTO IDENTIFICATION MUST BE THE SAME

MAIL ORDERS: Regular mail orders must include a self-addressed, stamped envelope, and take 10 to 14 business days to process.

All mail orders must include a copy of an acceptable form of Identification. Do not send cash by mail.

Mail to: Florida Department of Health in Palm Beach County Vital Statistics Department P.O. Box 29 West Palm Beach, FL 33402 https://palmbeach.floridahealth.gov/certificates/

PHONE or INTERNET ORDERS: Requires the use of a credit card. Requires Expedite and either Regular or Overnight Processing. Must include a copy of an acceptable form of Identification; Phone (800) 364-8380

Death certificates are available from 2009 to the present. Death certificates older than 2009 can be obtained from the State Office of
Vital Statistics in Jacksonville at (904)359-6900 Ext. 9000.

In Person Only... 800 Clematis Street West Palm Beach, FL 33401 In Person Only... 225 S Congress Ave

Delray Beach, FL 33445