

## Florida Department of Health – Palm Beach Child Care Licensing Program

Palm Beach County Rules and Regulations Governing Child Care Facilities and Palm Beach County Rules and Regulations Governing Family Child Care Homes and Large Family Child Care Homes, Adopted Pursuant to Chapter 2010-249, Laws of Florida

## MANDATORY RADON TESTING & REPORTING FOR CHILD CARE FACILITIES

According to the Palm Beach County Rules and Regulations Governing Child Care Facilities, Article X(A)(1), all child care facilities in Palm Beach County must comply with the same mandatory radon testing and reporting requirements as state-licensed child care facilities pursuant to section 404.056(4), Florida Statutes (F.S.) and section 64E-5.1208(c), Florida Administrative Code.

Child care facilities owners who have previously tested twice, and have submitted proof of compliance to the Department do not need to retest, unless there has been building renovation, or change in use, ownership, or licensure of the facility.

Facilities owners can perform their own testing with their own personnel using radon test kits approved by either the National Radon Proficiency Program or the National Radon Safety Board. Facility owners also have the option of hiring a certified company or professional that offers radon measurement services in Florida.

- <u>INITIAL TESTING</u> on not less than 20 percent of the habitable ground contact rooms and/or first floor rooms (see <a href="http://www.floridahealth.gov/healthyenvironments/radon/private-school.html">http://www.floridahealth.gov/healthyenvironments/radon/private-school.html</a>) which are used or accessed the children in care.
- <u>5<sup>th</sup> YEAR FOLLOW-UP TESTING</u> on not less than 5 percent of the habitable ground contact rooms and/or first floor rooms after the building has been occupied for 5 years.

Facilities testing for radon must report their radon measurements on form **DH 1777** (Non-Residential Buildings) and submit the form as follows, and keep a copy on file at the facility.

- 1. Original form DH 1777 to Department of Health, Bureau of Epidemiology/Radon Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #A12, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1720.
- 2. Copy to the Child Care Licensing program as part of a licensing application packet or as proof of compliance with radon testing requirements.

**Note** that any issues related to incomplete forms or inadequate testing based on responses from the Radon Program in Tallahassee must be addressed promptly by the facility owner. All questions regarding radon testing and reporting should be directed to the Radon Program in Tallahassee, which may be reached by calling **1-800-543-8279**. *This is the only source of verification of compliance with radon testing and reporting requirements*.

After radon measurements have been made twice (Initial & 5<sup>th</sup> Year Follow-up), no further testing is required unless the building undergoes significant structural changes, air-handler changes, or change in ownership, use, or licensure.

More information on the Mandatory Radon Measurements Protocols, (**Brochure DH 150-334**) is available at <a href="http://Radon.FloridaHealth.gov">http://Radon.FloridaHealth.gov</a> or call the Florida Department of Health Radon Program at **1-800-543-8279**.

EHE-DC-053 Rev. 10/2016