How to Report HIV

WHAT (disease): HIV

WHO (must report): Each person who makes a diagnosis OR treats a person with HIV shall report

such facts to the local county health department within 2 weeks of diagnosis or treatment.

HOW (to report): Reports may be made by MAILING in the Florida Adult or Pediatric HIV/AIDS Case

Report form or CALLING the HIV Surveillance program office. Faxing of confidential

information is prohibited. Reports must be submitted to the local county health

department and shall contain the following:

(1) Patient name

(2) Patients address - including city, state, and zip code

- (3) Patient contact number- i.e. telephone, cell phone, beeper, etc.
- (4) Date of birth
- (5) Sex
- (6) Race and ethnicity
- (7) Social Security Number
- (8) Risk information
- (9) HIV test date (specimen collection date)
- (10) **CD4** count
- (11) Viral load
- (12) Patient notification status (comment section)
- (13) Treatment/ services referrals
- (14) Provider name
- (15) Provider name and address including city and state
- (16) Name of person completing form and phone number
- (17) Pregnancy status (if applicable)
- (18) Incidence/ resistance information
- (19) HIV exposed newborns (0-18 months) shall be reported on the Pediatric HIV/AIDS Confidential Case Report (please call the office if you have an exposed newborn)

WHERE (reports are sent): Florida Health-Palm Beach County

Psyche Doe, Surveillance Manager Disease Surveillance Program

1050 West 15th Street 2nd floor, Room 26

Riviera Beach, FL 33404

Reports may be called in to: (561) 840-3137

WHEN (how often): HIV is to be reported within 2 weeks of diagnosis OR treatment.

WHY (statutory rule/authority):

Florida Statute 384 - each person who violates the provisions of this section may be fined by the department up to \$500 for each offense. The department shall report each violation of this section to the regulatory agency responsible for licensing each health care professional and each laboratory to which these provisions apply.

Florida Administrative Code 64D-3 - any person who does not comply as required by Rule 64D, shall be fined by the department up to \$500 for each offense.

How to Report AIDS

WHAT (disease): AIDS

WHO (must report): Each person who makes a diagnosis OR treats a person with AIDS shall report

such facts to the local county health department within 2 weeks of diagnosis or treatment.

HOW (to report): Reports may be made by MAILING in the Florida Adult or Pediatric HIV/AIDS Case

Report form or CALLING the HIV Surveillance program office. Faxing of confidential

information is prohibited. Reports must be submitted to the local county health

department and shall contain the following

(1) Patient name

(2) Patient address - including city, state, and zip code

- (3) Patient contact number- i.e. telephone, cell phone, beeper, etc.
- (4) Date of birth
- (5) Sex
- (6) Race and ethnicity
- (7) Social Security Number
- (8) Risk information
- (9) HIV test date (specimen collection date)
- (10) CD4 count
- (11) Viral load
- (12) Patient notification status (comment section)
- (13) Treatment/ services referrals
- (14) Provider name
- (15) Provider name and address including city and state
- (16) Name of person completing form and phone number
- (17) Pregnancy status (if applicable)
- (18) Incidence/ resistance information

Florida Health- Palm Beach County

WHERE (reports are sent): Psyche Doe, Surveillance Manager

Disease Surveillance Program

1050 West 15th Street 2nd floor, Room 26

Riviera Beach, FL 33404

Reports may be called in to: (561) 840-3137

WHEN (how often): AIDS is to be reported within 2 weeks of diagnosis OR treatment.

WHY (statutory rule/authority):

Florida Statute 384 - each person who violates the provisions of this section may be fined by the department up to \$500 for each offense. The department shall report each violation of this section to the regulatory agency responsible for licensing each health care professional and each laboratory to which these provisions apply.

Florida Administrative Code 64D-3 - any person who does not comply as required by Rule 64D, shall be fined by the department up to \$500 for each offense.